Upcoming Events


U-16 Match Reports

ROUND 1 Tipperary V Kerry March 10/03/2019 Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney

Tipperary 1-7 (10)         Kerry 2-16 (22)

Referee (Michael John O’Keeffe)

Tipperary lost out to Kerry for the second time this weekend when they travelled to Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney on Sunday last March 10th for the first round of the U16 A Munster Championship. Referee Michael O’Keeffe delayed the throw in at the start due to a severe hail shower as both sets of players took shelter in the stand. Conditions were blustery and a strong breeze favoured Kerry in the first half. From the throw in it was the home side who settled best quickly registering the opening three scores.  Playing into a strong wind Tipperary had it all to do and from the off were under severe pressure in the back line. Both sides had opportunities to raise the green flag in this opening half but Tipp goalkeeper Megan Tynan pulled off three very important saves mid way through the half to keep a clean sheet. The Kerry defence were holding firm denying Tipp’s advances and holding them scoreless for the opening half.  Meanwhile the Kerry attack took full advantage of the wind factor to register a half time score of Kerry 0-12 Tipperary 0-0.  

On the resumption Tipperary emerged a more determined side and registered the first three scores Sara Finnane (0-2) and Robyn Carey (0-1) all from frees.  Substitue Saoirse Keating was next to point before Kerry responded with a point of their own.  Again Tipperary were on the attack with Robyn Carey scoring a goal from a free that caught the Kerry defence off guard.  Carey was again on hand with another point.  Tipperary had the deficit down to six when substitute Eabha Hogan added her point. However Kerry would score a further three points before two quick fire goals to extinguish any hope Tipperary had of taking anything from the game. Tipperary added a point from Niamh Cunneen to wrap up the scoring. The final score was Kerry 2-16 to Tipperary 1-07. Next up for Tipperary is Cork in round 2 on Saturday next March 16th time and venue to be confirmed.

Tipperary Team and Scorers:

Megan Tynan, Kelly Ryan, Cathy Hogan, Niamh Dunne, Megan Heffernan, Sarah English, Emma Daly, Veerle Van Der Wal (C), Neasa Towey, Emer McCarthy, Clara English, Niamh Hayes, Robyn Carey (1-2), Sara Finnane (0-2), Niamh Cunneen (0-1). Subs used Caitlyn Downey for M. Heffernan, Eabha Hogan (0-1) for C. English, Queva O’Meara for N. Hayes, Saoirse Keating (0-1) for E. McCarthy, Kate Burke for V. Van Der Val.

Kerry Team and Scorers

M E Bolger, H McNamara, J Cahill, S Fitzpatrick, S Barrett, L O’Brien, K A Hanrahan, R Dwyer (1-3), A O’Leary, K Brosnan (0-1), E O’Connell (0-1), L Boyle, S Ní Chuanaigh, A Harrington (0-2), C Savage (0-9) Subs used: P McCarthy (1-0), for L Boyle, M Duffy for S Fitzpatrick, F Ní Chuanaigh for K Brosnan, M Daly for H McNamara, C Sheehan for A O’Leary, E O’Sullivan for S Ní Chuanaigh

ROUND 2 Tipperary v Cork - March 16/03/2019 Cloughduv, Cork

Tipperary 1-7 (10)         Cork 1-8 (11)

Our u-16's lost out to Cork in the second round of their Munster Championship on Saturday afternoon last March 16th.. Due to weather conditions the fixture was moved on Saturday morning after a pitch inspection from Castletownroche to Cloughduv. From the throw in Tipperary went into an early lead with points from Robyn Carey (0-2), Niamh Hayes and Eimear O’Donovan before Cork responded the (0-3) of their own to narrow the gap. However just before the break Robyn Carey goaled to stretch Tipperary’s advantage. The half time score read Tipperary 1-4 Cork 0-3. 

On the resumption the sides exchanged points with Katie Delaney pointing for Tipp. Cork then tacked on four more unanswered points to leave just a goal separating the sides. Robyn Carey again pointed and Niamh Cuneen added another. Tipp were now up 1-6 to 0-8 with just six minutes remaining and the narrowest of margins separating the sides. Cork never gave up and in the last minute of ordinary time goaled. They added a point in injury time to leave the final score at Cork 1-8 Tipperary 1-6.

Munster Semi-Final - April 20th - New Inn, Tipperary

Tipperary 2-12     Cork 4-12

Cork won out in a hard fought encounter when they defeated Tipperary in the U16A Munster Semi Final played in New Inn on Saturday afternoon last. Played in ideal conditions Tipperary started brightly forging a two point lead in the opening ten minutes of the game and putting Cork on the back foot. However Cork entered a purple patch scoring two goals one each from Molly Kelleher and Leah Hallihan in a five minute period with Cork now leading on a scoreline of 2-2 to Tipp’s 0-5. Tipperary chipped away at the lead first with a point from Eimear McCarthy followed by another from Niamh Hayes and well worked goal from Clara English and Tipp were back in front again. Cork responded with two further points restoring their lead.  Heading into injury time Tipperary had Cork under severe pressure with all the action inside their 21 yard line. The hard work paid off first with a point from Robyn Carey followed less than a minute later with a goal by Rachel Moore. The half time score read Tipperary 2-8 Cork 2-6.

On the restart though it was Cork who took the initiative and within ten minutes had blitzed the Tipperary defence with a six point turnaround to go four points ahead . Tipperary registered their first score of the second half mid way through to put a goal between the sides however Cork’s fourth goal by Zoe O’Herlihy in the 48th minute proved to be a bridge too far for Tipperary. To their credit Tipperary fought on until the end.  The final score was Tipperary 2-12 Cork 4-12

Tipperary Team and scorers

Dearbhla Morrissey (St. Patrick’s), Kelly Ryan (Fethard), Cathy Hogan (Moyne Templetouhy), Niamh Dunne (Moyne Templetouhy), Caitlyn Downey (Boherlahan), Sarah English (Ardfinnan), Veerle Van der  Wal (c) (Clonmel Commercials), Emer McCarthy (Galtee Rovers) (0-1), Neasa Towey (Templemore) (0-2), Clara English (Ardfinnan)(1-0), Niamh Hayes (Fethard)(0-1), Niamh Cunneen (Silvermines), Rachel Moore (Moyne Templetouhy)(1-1), Eabha Hogan (St. Patrick’s)(0-1), Robyn Carey (Brian Borus)(0-4). Subs used Megan Tynan (Galtee Rovers) for K. Ryan, Sara Finnane (Galtee Rovers) for N. Cunneen, Saoirse Keating (Clonmel Commercials) (0-1) for R. Moore and  Queva O’Meara (Moycarkey Borris) for N. Towey .

Cork Team and scorers

Caragh Byrne (Glanmire), Anna Ryan (Mourneabbey), Sally McAllister (Aghada), Dara Kiniry (Lisgoold), Roisin Ni Loinsigh (Naomh Aban), Aimee Corcoran (Erin’s Own), Laura Doody (St. Peter’s), Eimear O’Donovan (Eire Og), Sadbh McGoldrick (Eire Og), Rachel Leahy (Aghada)(0-3), Olivia McAllen (C) (Glanmire) (0-2), Shauna Ludgate (Mallow)(0-4), Molly Kelleher (Ballygarvan) (2-0), Zoe O’Herlihy (Carrigaline)(1-2), Leah Hallihan (Bride Rovers)(1-0). Subs used Ciara Walsh (Carrigtwohill) for  S. McGoldrick, Ava Mulhall (Courcey) for L. Doody, Grace Ni Murchu (Naomh Aban) (0-1) for Molly Kelleher

Main Sponsors

Player Profile

Anna Rose Kennedy